top of page

Four Corners Road Trip



Every year, I try to do at least one week long road trip in a new state that I haven’t been. Last year’s big trip was going to Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico. Both Colorado and Utah were new states for me. The main place I wanted to go was Telluride and I really wanted to go to Monument Valley so that was added to the list. You basically pass through Mesa Verde on the way there so I decided to stop there as well. Instead of tracking back to Montrose, where I flew in, I decided I would just leave from a major airport since it would be more convenient and cheaper. That made me decide to go to New Mexico since I spent a week there a few years back and really enjoyed it. On the way there, you basically can pass through Canyon de Chelly so I added that to the route as well! Along the way, they have the four corners monument, where you can stand in four states at once, so I added that as well! I’ll post a more thorough description on what I did everywhere, but for now, here is the itinerary.

Day 1- Arrive in Telluride

· Fly to Montrose and pick up rental car

· Drive to Mountain Village Airbnb

Day 2- Ouray

· Drive to Ouray

· 9AM- 12:30PM Alpine Scenic Tours through San Juan Mountains and old mining town (or rent a jeep and go on your own)

· Lunch and shops in Ouray

· Ouray Hot Springs

Day 3- Telluride

· Hike or drive up to Bridal Veil Falls, the highest waterfall in Colorado

· Lunch and shops in Downtown Telluride

· Gondola ride up to Allred Restaurant

Day 4- Telluride, drive to Mesa Verde

· Drive to Alta Lake

· Drive two hours to Mesa Verde

· Self-drive Mesa Verde

· Dinner and check-in to Far View Lodge in the Park

Day 5- Mesa Verde and 4 Corners Monument, drive to Monument Valley stay at The View

· Mesa Verde Balcony House Tour

· Drive an hour 22 minutes to 4 Corners Monument and get fry bread

· Drive an hour 34 minutes to Monument Valley, “The View Hotel”

Day 6- Monument Valley

· 9AM tour of Mystery Valley, 10 minutes from Monument Valley

· Drive through Monument Valley

· Dinner at Gouldings Lodge

Day 7- Canyon De Chelly

· Drive to Canyon De Chelly 2 and a half hours from Monument Valley

· Drive the South Rim through Canyon De Chelly (2 hours)

· Drive 1 and a half hours to Gallup and sleep in hotel

Day 8- Albuquerque

· Drive to Sunrise Sunset Spa for massage, facial, and pools

· Dinner at El Pinto

· Stay at Hampton Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport

Day 9- Flight

· Fly home

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page